What fuses to use in my 100 watt Jackson JG-3

Live sound reinforcement, running PA's and general amplifier/amplification questions and discussion.
Post Reply
kingston
newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: May 11th, 2010, 5:41 am

What fuses to use in my 100 watt Jackson JG-3

Post by kingston » May 11th, 2010, 6:01 am

I have a great sounding Jackson JG-3 amp made by Laney. I remember hearing this amp played by Brad W. from Areosmith.I fell in love with the sound. I finally aquired one 3 years ago! Now a rival guitarist in my town found a way to sabotage my amp. He removed the fuses(2) took them and left only the fuse caps on top of my amp. My problem aside from wanting to kick his @#$! is I do not know what fuses it used. It has an AC fuse & a DC fuse as well. This is a rare amp and no one seems to know what fuses i should use in it.I have been trying to contact the guy who recently bought Brads amp named (ACTION JACKSON) off EBAY I do not want to guess and screw this amp. Please help!!!! I have to play this amp again.

User avatar
Blue Jay
Guitarnoise Denizen
Posts: 1649
Joined: July 7th, 2009, 7:23 am
Location: Ontario, CANADA

Re: What fuses to use in my 100 watt Jackson JG-3

Post by Blue Jay » May 11th, 2010, 7:08 am

Wow, there are no schematics for that amp out there. Laney says for the 100 Watter, if you are using 100 - 130 AC volts power (North America), your AC fuse is 5 amp time delay or slo-blo. If you use 210 - 240 volts (UK - Europe) use a 2 amp time delay or slo-blo. Okay, that takes care of your AC supply and will power up the amp or turn its light on. :idea:

On the DC or post-transformer side, it is simply a 1 amp time delay, or slo-blo again. I think that will apply to your amp.

http://www.laney.co.uk/manuals/AOR50H-1 ... ue%201.pdf

Here, you can get them from Allparts (in small quantities) - also Digi-Key BTW, cheaper but for a hundred-year supply. 8)
http://www.allparts.com/4-Amp-Slo-Blo-F ... 07-000.htm

Image
Image
Image
Like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

kingston
newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: May 11th, 2010, 5:41 am

Re: What fuses to use in my 100 watt Jackson JG-3

Post by kingston » May 16th, 2010, 4:54 am

Hi Rasta......no problem! OK, assuming you have the 100 watt head. Use a T5 amp for the power fuse (I am also assuming you are on 110 - 120 volts?) If not and you are using the amp on a step-up transformer for 230 - 240 volts then the fuse would be T3 amp.

However and in both cases the HT fuse would be T1 amp.

Hope this helps you?

Kind regards, John.

User avatar
Blue Jay
Guitarnoise Denizen
Posts: 1649
Joined: July 7th, 2009, 7:23 am
Location: Ontario, CANADA

Re: What fuses to use in my 100 watt Jackson JG-3

Post by Blue Jay » June 1st, 2010, 6:10 am

Any news?
Like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

Post Reply