Bass on guitar amp...

Live sound reinforcement, running PA's and general amplifier/amplification questions and discussion.
DarkDragon

Bass on guitar amp...

Post by DarkDragon » July 9th, 2003, 5:05 pm

Ok, so I've got both a bass (from my high school days) and a guitar (more recent purchase), both electric, but I only had money to buy 1 amp. I bought a guitar amp because my primary interest lies there but I still enjoy playing bass from time to time. Anyway my question is, is it dangerous to play bass on a guitar amp at low volume (mostly for practice)? Sorry if this is a stupid question but I'm a total newbie when it comes to amps. Thanks in advance.

Ricochet
Guitari Lama

Re: Bass on guitar amp...

Post by Ricochet » July 25th, 2003, 3:11 pm

It can't hurt the amp, but some guitar speakers can be damaged by playing low frequencies at high volume. The cone excursion is greater for those low frequencies. It could stretch the cone surround, potentially crack the cone, and slam the voice coil/spider assembly into the magnet assembly on the backstroke. Many speakers will be fine; guitar speakers by definition are woofers, but they're not all made to go down to 40 Hz as a bass guitar does. Many simply won't reproduce lower frequencies (below the speaker's resonant frequency of usually 70-100 Hz) well enough to cause any danger. Bottom line is, you don't know about the speakers you've got. The maker might be able to tell you.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

corbind
Guitarnoise Addict

Re: Bass on guitar amp...

Post by corbind » July 30th, 2003, 4:33 pm