reaper picking up radio while i record?

Recording engineering discussions and questions. Also a great place to discuss software, plugins, and computer based recording/arranging.
play4theworld
newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: July 11th, 2010, 6:30 pm

reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by play4theworld » July 19th, 2010, 7:04 am

I got a new comp and i installed reaper and asio4all and i go to record and i have alot of buzzing and if you listen closely you can hear a DJ who WONT SHUT UP. I closed all the possible sources i could think of on my comp.

Any ideas why it would be doing this?

Im running my guitar through a couple pedals into my amp and out the headphone jack through a couple cords into my soundcard. Yes I know this is bad for sound quality but I just want the radio dj gone.

Edit:

I think I may have figured it out. It seems that the input cords are picking up a radio station. I can move it to where I cant hear the radio but i still get alot of buzzing so its no good for recording, if i switch to an inter face would that fix teh problem?

User avatar
kent_eh
Guitarnoise Denizen
Posts: 1884
Joined: February 20th, 2006, 6:39 pm
Location: Winnipeg

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by kent_eh » July 20th, 2010, 8:37 pm

It's most likely a bad/damaged/missing ground connection on one of your cables.
Or on the soundcard of your computer.

The buzzing and the radio station interfering are both symptoms of the same problem.
Essentially the bad connection is acting like a radio receiver, and is picking up (probably) the strongest AM station near you.

This is not that unusual.
I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

User avatar
greybeard
Guitari Lama
Posts: 7946
Joined: February 19th, 2003, 8:07 am
Location: Beervaria
Contact:

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by greybeard » July 21st, 2010, 10:06 am

Tie a couple of knots in the cable. This will stop it acting like an antenna.
I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

User avatar
kent_eh
Guitarnoise Denizen
Posts: 1884
Joined: February 20th, 2006, 6:39 pm
Location: Winnipeg

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by kent_eh » July 21st, 2010, 11:51 am

greybeard wrote:Tie a couple of knots in the cable. This will stop it acting like an antenna.
But if the root problem is at the computer's input jack, the buzz will probably be un-affected.
I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

play4theworld
newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: July 11th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by play4theworld » July 21st, 2010, 2:37 pm

ill try the not thing, i tried a couple different cables and one i know i sgood because it works with other stuff....computer is still under warrantly is there a way to prove soundcard is bad? music plays fine.

User avatar
kent_eh
Guitarnoise Denizen
Posts: 1884
Joined: February 20th, 2006, 6:39 pm
Location: Winnipeg

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by kent_eh » July 21st, 2010, 2:43 pm

Computers almost always have a cheap audio input section, because most people don't use it, and those who do use a crappy microphone for things like Skype, where audio quality isn't very important (compared to recording music, or other tasks where quality really matters).

But everyone uses the audio output so they make sure it works reasonably well.

It could be faulty, or it could be poorly designed.
I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

play4theworld
newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: July 11th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by play4theworld » July 21st, 2010, 3:49 pm

yea....

when you use an interface it completely disables and replaces teh soundcard correct?

Kinda bummed cuz for some reason thsi computer when i installed ASIO on it had almost zero latency with monitoring and sounded pretty darn good to me but the buzz ruined it.

User avatar
kent_eh
Guitarnoise Denizen
Posts: 1884
Joined: February 20th, 2006, 6:39 pm
Location: Winnipeg

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by kent_eh » July 21st, 2010, 5:42 pm

play4theworld wrote:yea....

when you use an interface it completely disables and replaces teh soundcard correct?
It essentially becomes another soundcard, then you choose which one you want your software to use.
I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

play4theworld
newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: July 11th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by play4theworld » July 22nd, 2010, 4:18 am

if you had a faulty soundcard could you use it in place of the other for game sounds and what not?

User avatar
greybeard
Guitari Lama
Posts: 7946
Joined: February 19th, 2003, 8:07 am
Location: Beervaria
Contact:

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by greybeard » July 22nd, 2010, 9:01 am

kent_eh wrote:
greybeard wrote:Tie a couple of knots in the cable. This will stop it acting like an antenna.
But if the root problem is at the computer's input jack, the buzz will probably be un-affected.
A duff jack wouldn't become an antenna and pick up radio signals.
I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

play4theworld
newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: July 11th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by play4theworld » July 22nd, 2010, 12:23 pm

greybeard wrote:
kent_eh wrote:
greybeard wrote:Tie a couple of knots in the cable. This will stop it acting like an antenna.
But if the root problem is at the computer's input jack, the buzz will probably be un-affected.
A duff jack wouldn't become an antenna and pick up radio signals.
Ill go try it right now :P brb

play4theworld
newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: July 11th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by play4theworld » July 22nd, 2010, 12:37 pm

now reaper wont make any noise....at all. Im getting input but no sound when monitoring or after i record.....volume is full blast and will play mp3s on my comp...

User avatar
boxboy
Guitarnoise Denizen
Posts: 1229
Joined: June 22nd, 2006, 6:21 am
Location: Toronto

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by boxboy » July 22nd, 2010, 12:57 pm

play4theworld wrote:now reaper wont make any noise....at all
A bunch of problems, you keep changing the context :lol: ...but I think you've been starting from a false premise for all/most of them...it seems doubtful it's a software problem. Maybe, start/focus on the mechanical. Shut down, unplug everything and rebuild the chain doing what's been suggested above and see what happens then?
Don

play4theworld
newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: July 11th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by play4theworld » July 22nd, 2010, 1:04 pm

i actually tried two setups...

User avatar
boxboy
Guitarnoise Denizen
Posts: 1229
Joined: June 22nd, 2006, 6:21 am
Location: Toronto

Re: reaper picking up radio while i record?

Post by boxboy » July 22nd, 2010, 2:19 pm

Great. Did you make it as reductive as possible?
Basically taking the pedals out of:
'I'm running my guitar through a couple pedals into my amp and out the headphone jack through a couple cords into my soundcard'
and seeing what you got?
Don

Post Reply