Self-Taught vs Private Lessons

Discussion about guitar playing from a diverse group of people with different tastes and levels of experience.
BigMoney

Self-Taught vs Private Lessons

Post by BigMoney » June 19th, 2017, 4:54 pm

Who here is self taught and who here has studied privately?

On a tangent, I think now more than ever it is reasonable to be completely self taught. The internet can teach you so much these days. Online videos are a great resource as well.

On the other hand you can't jam with the internet like you can a teacher. They will also point out your mistakes way faster than the internet. Backing tracks are great, but jamming with a person teaches you much more.

What do you guys think?
The 3 elements of Western music are: melody, harmony, and rhythm
If you'd like to hear them all played on an acoustic guitar simultaneously, watch me play fingerstyle. Cheers.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZ2NC ... C5yufPaVAg

Alan Green
Guitari Lama

Re: Self-Taught vs Private Lessons

Post by Alan Green » June 19th, 2017, 9:29 pm

Self-taught, but I could already read music before I first picked up a guitar

I had a few lessons in my early 20s, but my tutor "did a runner" before some heavies came round and kicked in his front door; and I had some lessons ahead of my Grade 7 exam because some things needed a little polishing.