New to electric (guitar and amp settings....)

Post your question here and an experienced guitar player or teacher will get back to you.
GM

New to electric (guitar and amp settings....)

Post by GM » May 29th, 2008, 7:31 am

Hey, I've been playing acoustic for 4-5 years and finally decided to add electric to my repertoire. I got a Squier strat http://www.wwbw.com/Squier-Standard-Str ... 2725.music with a humbucker at the bridge and two single coils. I also got a Marshall 10w amp http://www.wwbw.com/Marshall-MG10CD-Com ... 1116.music

As a tease, the guitar arrived yesterday but the amp doesn't arrive until tomorrow. Here's my issue though: I've never had to deal with settings. From my experience, I feel like when I first started tuning my guitar. I could tell that I was changing things but not sure which way I have to go to get what I want (and tuning is just left/right as opposed to all these knobs!).

I've read a fair amount in these forums and found some bits on "tone" etc (BTW, there are two tone knobs but three pickups, what do they control?). Here's my request, could somebody give me a general idea on how to get a couple sounds and then I feel like I could play around from there.

What sort of settings should you use to sound like Derek & the Dominoes?

How about the Ramones?

Nirvana?

I know pedals are often involved (the amp does have overdrive) but any recommendations to get these sorts of sounds with just the guitar and amp would be much appreciated! Thanks!

dogbite
Musically Insane

Re: New to electric (guitar and amp settings....)

Post by dogbite » May 29th, 2008, 7:52 am

three pickups, one of which is a humbucker.
the positions of those pickups matter.
in genral terms think of this:
neck pickup...clear, bell tones.. blues, jazz.
bridge pickup with a humbucker...loud, creamy , smooth, biting, treble emphasis.
middle pickup...classic single coil 'squak' .

unlike acoustics the tone really begins with the fingers. your touch matters.