Clear all

Bass Technique?

21 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@lunchmeat)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Alright. I've been playing guitar for about 2 years (give or take a little...I think...?) and I've recently switched to bass because guitar hasn't really been doing it for me lately. I recently got a Behringer BX300T amp with a Hartke 4x10, and I'm liking the sound.

However, I've got a few quetions about technique - i've been playing bass for a little wihle, and my finger stamina is better than it was, but I have problems with my middle finger starting to hurt. I'm double-jointed in my fingertips (when I straighten my fingers, they bend back) and that has really been causing a problem when I play, because it hurts after a while. Is anyone else double-jointed, and if so, did you ever have this problem? How did you deal with it?

I have also been having trouble muting strings. I play my bass as I would play my guitar - in classical position. However, I occasionally have resonance from other strings ringing while I'm playing a bass line. I usually try to mute by using stop strokes with my right hand, just like classical guitar; I also mute with my left hand by slightly lifting the finger after playing a note. I doesn't work so well on bass as it does on guitar, I suppose, because I think that's the source of the resonance. Any suggestions?

Just thought of this - should I always be barring the strings with my index finger, in order to mute? That seems like it'd work, but I don't think it'd be very natural. In fact...now that I think about it...am I supposed to fret with the tips of my fingers, like guitar, or the flatter part of my finger, where the fingerprint is?

So many questions...sorry. I just have to figure this out, and I need some advice. Thanks.

-lunchmeat

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

"I have problems with my middle finger starting to hurt....."