Beginers bass lines

22 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
10.4 K Views
(@petrix)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Been playing bass for about a month now. Bear in mind I'm a guitarist also.

Ok, I know a few bass lines and bass riffs, but I don't really know where to go from here. I'd like to learn something thats a bit more difficult, but not impossible.

Any recomendations? Songs or just bands that have good, learnable bass lines.

Thankyou

"I had these dreams that I would learn to play guitar, maybe cross the country, become a rock star"

(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

You might try Portrait of Tracy by Jaco Pastorius.  It's a little odd because it uses many harmonics.  It doesn't sound odd, it's just an odd way to play.  It's nicely laid out on the fretboard, so fingering isn't too much of an obstacle.  I think I started on it about a month into my bass playing.  If I was new I couldn't have done it, but I also played guitar first.

There's an excellent tab at powertabs.net.

ReplyQuote
(@elgalad)
Eminent Member

Hi Petrix,

I'm not sure exactly how hard my suggestions should be, but I've been playing guitar for 2-3 years, and recently took up bass as well, so here are a couple of suggestions:   "Californication" - Red Hot Chili Peppers,  "Can't Stop" - Red Hot Chili Peppers, and if you'd like a real challenge try "By the Way" again by RHCP.

Sorry about the repeating pattern, but I've been learning bass from my band's bass player, who's really into the Chili Peppers.

Have Fun 8)
Brad

Use the Big Muff, Luke

ReplyQuote
(@petrix)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Yeah, I'll try them, I'm a big fan of the Chilli's more recent stuff. Thanks

"I had these dreams that I would learn to play guitar, maybe cross the country, become a rock star"

ReplyQuote
(@taylorr)
Prominent Member