Notifications
Clear all

Beginner bassist looking for the right book

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@winnie)
Topic starter  

I'm a brand new bassist, but I've been a musician for a long, long time. Therefore, bass books that I've seen at the store or read about online all seem too tedious to me -- I don't want to hear about chord theory, scales and key signatures, time signatures, how to read music, these are all things I know like my own name. Are there any good books out there that only deal with developing technique?

If this is the wrong forum for this question, I'm terribly sorry and can a moderator please move this?

Thanks for your help!

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Hello Winnie and welcome to Guitar Noise! I took the liberty of moving your post to the "Bass Players Discussion" forum.

The only bass book I've ever used was Guitar Noise's own David Hodge's "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Playing Bass Guitar". So, that's pretty much the only one I can recommend! I play guitar, dulcimer, mandolin and bass, and David's book gave me a really good grounding as far as bass is concerned. I highly recommend it!

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

You betcha.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

In fairness, though, half of the Complete Idiot's Guide to Playing Bass Guitar is devoted to things that Winnie knows. While she might find some of it interesting, other parts of it probably won't be. The thing is, all beginners books are going to be this way because it's incredibly important for a bass player to know theory and chord make-up.