Skip to content
How many fingers? Q...

Notifications
Clear all

How many fingers? Quick response please!

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@rjnix_0329)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I have a friend who is interested in learning bass. I have tracked down several models for him, and it looks like we can get him a pretty good deal. He is mostly ambidextrous, but he doesn't have full control over his left little finger. It is, of course, much easier to find a right handed bass than a left handed one, but we were wondering how many fingers on the left hand you have found yourself using for fretting? I know that, as a guitarist, my pinky gets quite a workout, but bass is very different. He has complete control over his index, middle, and ring fingers. Please let me know what ya'll think.

--RJ

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I use my pinky a lot when I'm playing bass - it's more of a stretch between frets than a guitar. In fact, learning bass probably led to me using my pinky more when playing guitar, as it gained in strength. Having said that, I see no reason why you'd ever need to stretch more than 3 frets at a time... all the notes in a given octave are within that stretch, unless you're playing high up the fretboard.

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

While I agree with Vic, I'm thinking he might get by without the pinky if he shifts position when needed.

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@voidious)
Estimable Member