Skip to content
I'm a sax player bu...

Notifications
Clear all

I'm a sax player but I wanna be a bass player.

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@bobdotcom)
Topic starter  

Hi
Many moons ago, 40 years worth of moons to be exact, I played bass (tea chest and then electric) in a band with a few rock n roll-loving schoolmates.
Then I learned to play the sax (tenor and alto) and forgot about the bass.
But now I have an overwhelming urge to play bass again (I know, I'm kinda sad!)
But there's been a lot of innovations in 40 years and I have lost the plot as far as which bass to renew my interest with.
I'd love a Steinberger cos I just like the idea and shape, I've seen a secondhand Washburn I like the feel of, but the truth is, I'm a total novice (ok, I know which way to hold the thing) and I have no desire to spend a lot of hard-earned cash on a guitar that leaves me out in the cold.
Any suggestions (as long as they are relatively clean) gratefully received.
Thanks
BTW I'm in Wales, UK.

(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

Squiers can be good; I have one, and it's plenty adequate for my needs. Since they're budget instruments, it's good practice to play your potential bass first to see how it is. They can vary in quality.

ReplyQuote
(@chalmodo)

i'd say if your starting off again, two options.

if you wanna learn again, pick up the basics from a tutor, he'll let you use his bass til you get your own, and he'll even be able to give you advise on types of bass to buy.

secondly

go to a music shop (one preferably that sell bass guitars) and try out a bunch of different makes.
Yamaha have a verry nice range at the moment, listen to them all, see how they feel and work for you.

some may sound a little brassy, some a little too mellow, others may just fit you right, have a play, dont be scared to ask questions, make sure you get your moenys worth and DONT be fooled into any special offers,
ie, store managers going, if you buy this bass, i'll sell you this amp for £15 or whatever.