10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,

I bought the bass one month ago. I think I've played it every day. Even some days I didn't play the guitars. Even some days I didn't write a post! It is curious but now I think the guitars have a neck very short.

The David's book is also a good purchase. I think I'm understanding some issues on chord composition and rhythm much better than with other books and I studied a good number of books on music! I'd recommended it to everybody. A lot of questions that I read on these forums are clearly explained there.

The bass is improving my ear. Now I'm able to play almost all the songs directly, without a partiture or tablature. I never did it with a guitar. And while I am listening a song, whatever song, my brain starts to create bass lines. The best part is that I pick up the guitar and I am able to play it directly with minor mistakes. I guess the practice of scales also helps. Or perhaps I was a bass player all this time and I didn't know it.

Also I'm playing several music styles and rediscovering some old songs. Practically you can play almost every music style with the bass. The guitar is also very versatile but perhaps it is more limited from this point of view. Maybe I was only focused on blues, rock and acoustic fingerstyle with the guitars.

I am having a lot of fun with the bass and this last weekend was incredibly fun and productive. If the rest of the journey is only a half of fun that this first month it will be enough for me!

For all these reasons, one more time, thanks to all of you that recommended to me a bass guitar!

vink
(@vink)
Prominent Member

Awesome :D

--vink
"Life is either an adventure or nothing" -- Helen Keller

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

That's great news, Nuno! I think you'll find that any instrument is only limited by one's imagination and it sounds like your imaginations working just fine!

Looking forward to more progress reports.

Peace

ReplyQuote