Clear all

Picking

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@cerberus)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey I've been playing guitar for almost 5 years now, and I picked up bass a couple of weeks ago.
I was wondering, when does one opt to play with a pick vs. playing sans pick?

I pity the fool, but also suggest ways he might better himself.

xg5a
(@xg5a)
Honorable Member

Well, it's a question of technique and tone. Playing without a pick gives a more mellow, round tone. Playing with a pick gives a more aggressive tone, with more highs. Being a guitar player, you'll probably be able to play faster with a pick, but the tone of a pick may not be suited to all of the things that you want to play. Don't be afraid to play fingerstyle.

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

When I first started with the bass, I tended to use the pick a lot (my primary instrument is guitar). But now that I've gotten pretty comfortable with the bass, I play with fingers most of the time. It seemed like a natural progression. I do use a pick if I want a sharp attack, as on "Get Back". Otherwise I think you'll find you'll prefer the mellower fingerstyle on many if not most songs. But you might want to use the pick for a little while as you become a bit more familiar with the bass and move to fingers as you begin to feel comfortable.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I'm yet another who learned guitar first, then took up bass - however, since I very rarely use a plectrum for guitar, I've never bothered to use one for bass....

Guessing here, but I would imagine anyone who does use a plec uses a fairly heavy one?

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member