Plateau?

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

I am not very active on music these days. It started some weeks ago when I was finishing my instruction book on blues bass. Now I am only studying a book on walking jazz bass lines. It is good, it explains the concepts correctly but I find the exercises very repetitive. I only find fun with the bass when I work on new songs by ear and when I play in on-line collaborations.

The bass was my main instrument these 18 months and I don't know if I'm getting a plateau or something like that. I played or practiced every day if I had some free time these months. The acoustic guitar was my second instrument, I played it from time to time and practically I didn't learn new stuff (just some strumming songs).

Probably the problem is the lack of a good instruction book, a teacher or people for jamming. Perhaps I found my 'comfortable zone' with the bass although I tried to learn new stuff every week.

Perhaps it is time to get back to the guitar as main instrument and keep the bass for collaborations and ear training.

Please, give me an advice!

Thanks.

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Nuno,

I know what you are talking about. The "comfort zone" can be a danger zone!

I got lucky recently; we found a backup bass player for our church band, and he has about 20 years more experience on the instrument than I do! So I have learned from him, and it has really helped my playing. If you can find a more experienced bass player to jam with, I would highly recommend it - even if you play guitar while he/she plays bass.

Also I started playing drums a little bit (my daughter is taking lessons, and I borrow her notebook to practice), and I think that has made bass more interesting too. Good to get a feel for other parts of the rhythm section.

Cheers!

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
 Crow
(@crow)
Honorable Member

Hi Nuno,