Notifications
Clear all

Problems with my guitar. Need help.

15 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@jadedoutkast)
Topic starter  

I'm new to guitars, so bare with me. I was loaned a Peavey bass guitar and Fender amp. At first I was having no troubles with them. I picked up the guitar one afternoon to play, and about 20 minutes into the session I realized the sound was fuzzy. Within a few minutes, it got really distorted and then a constant buzz came through the speaker. I strumbed the strings and nothing happened. I turned the amp off and left it for a couple minutes, and then turned it back on. I was able to play for a few minutes, then the exact same thing that had happend earlier happened again.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Could it be a setting on the guitar, or amp? I messed with the equalizer, but that's not it. I have no idea what the knobs on the guitar do, except adjust the sound. I've gotta return this guitar soon, and if something's wrong I'd like to know before I do. Any suggestions or information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Is the amp a bass amp? If not, you might have blown the speaker if you had the volume up. Guitar amps can handle bass guitar notes at a low volume level but you can damage the speaker if you crank it up.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@jadedoutkast)
Topic starter  

I don't think so. It's a Fender KXR Sixty, if that helps you. It's a keyboard amp, I believe. If I blew it, would it play for a few minutes before it gets distorted?

ReplyQuote
(@97reb)
Noble Member

Usually, keyboard amps have an extended range and can handle a bass guitars low notes. I'd imagine the speaker, or something, in the amp is fried.

It is a small world for metal fanatics. I welcome you fellow musicians, especially the metalheads!

ReplyQuote
(@bluezoldy)
Reputable Member