6 Users
0 Likes
(@demoetc)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Opinions? Comments?

(@english-one)
Estimable Member

Well, i play a short scale, but that is only because I couldn't afford a full length one at the time.
I find it easier to play, as I am a guitarist and more used to the shorter neck.

However, there are problems with short scales; they have trouble creating low notes, because the strings are shorter. therefore, you need to use thicker strings, and even they tend to flap a little bit. Also, as my bass is 7/8th size, I find people laugh at me... :(

I shall be getting full sized as soon as I can.

Peter

ReplyQuote
(@97reb)
Noble Member

I think the Gibson SG looking bass and the german made "violin" bass that McCartney used are cool looking and certainly serve their purpose as far as sound goes for particular songs. The short scale basses may even serve a great purpose as a learner instrument for beginners or younger players. There is no substitute for the full length scale, however.

It is a small world for metal fanatics. I welcome you fellow musicians, especially the metalheads!

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I'm wondering if anyone in the forum plays an upright string bass. Those are like 42" scale lenth and I've never played one. It would be interesting to bring that into the conversation.

Anyone?

ReplyQuote
(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

I wish I played one. I've played them, but not "played one", like actually being a double bassist. I like 'em though. I think the upright position makes the stretches easier.

ReplyQuote
(@97reb)
Noble Member