Clear all

The left handed bassist

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing bass now for about 3-4 months and i love playing. Problem is that i use a right handed bass. Should i really try to find a left-strung bass??? Its not like im going to play long reach chords (I'm on a basic 4 string).

My heart sunk when i read the lefty guitar columns saying never to pick up a righty-strung guitar.

(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

That's a topic of much controversy. However, I think most will agree that if you're not having problems with the righty bass, then there's no reason to switch. The main problem that I hear lefties playing on righty guitars complain of is a lack of rhythm in their right hand. From my experience flipping my guitar around, my non-dominant hand (left) does seem deficient. I don't know if that's just because I'm used to my right hand doing the job well and my left still being at a beginner level or not. I think you can learn good rhythm in your non-dominant hand, even if it doesn't come naturally. In my opinion, most of it comes down to practice.

Since you're already playing righty and don't seem to be having problems, I'd recommend sticking with it. You'd have to relaern 3-4 months of practice backwards.

ReplyQuote
(@baronvonrock)

It costs a bit more, but I personally refuse to use right handed basses. I'm proud of my left-handedness. It's the only minority I am! Embrace your leftyness, but do whatever's easiest for you man.

I am so smart! S-M-R-T!

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

The bass player we recently started jamming with is left handed but plays a righty bass strung righty. He's been playing that way since 1965 or something and has no problem with it. I guess it is all about how much you practice, like Paul said.