Clear all

Upright Bass

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@drunkrock)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Perhaps it's just me but I find the double bass to be one of the coolest instruments in existence. How complicated is this instrument to learn with aid of a teacher? I have no experience playing any string bass instrument, and don't have a devoped ear. Has anyone made the transition to the upright at an older age?

(@voodoo_merman)
Reputable Member

Perhaps it's just me but I find the double bass to be one of the coolest instruments in existence.

Oh how true that is.

I can only guess that it would be at least moderately difficult to really get going with one. Especially if you're not really accustomed to the fret-less set up. Teachers are the way to go for sure. Good luck!

At this time I would like to tell you that NO MATTER WHAT...IT IS WITH GOD. HE IS GRACIOUS AND MERCIFUL. HIS WAY IS IN LOVE, THROUGH WHICH WE ALL ARE. IT IS TRULY -- A LOVE SUPREME --. John Coltrane

ReplyQuote
(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

My nephew, who is now in college studying music, made the switch from violin to upright bass when he was around 14. He now plays in jazz ensembles and orchestras, but he started playing violin at around 5, so the transition for him was not that bad. Might be tough to pick up as an adult, but that might be the fun & challenge of it!

ReplyQuote
 xg5a
(@xg5a)
Honorable Member

I think they're a bit pricey too. You might want to look at one of those acoustic-electric "stick" basses. They're a lot cheaper, and a lot easier to transport.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

i don't know how to use a bow, but as for plucking, it's been pretty intuitive for me the times i've played one.

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

I know they have those cheapie Chinese or Indonesian made uprights on eBay (even lefties!), but...I dunno if you'd want to go that cheap.