Hi everybody, i'm new to guitarnoise :p
i'm 16 years old and i've been playing the guitar
for three months now.
I learned quite some songs, burnt the major scales into my head,
learned a bit about the twelve bar blues en tried to play as many
chords as possible.

But now i've got a new challenge to face,
i bought myself a twelve string guitar, and i found out that the songs
that sound good on the normal guitar mostly don't on the 12 string.

So i was hoping anybody could help me out here by giving some
songs that sound good on the twelve string.
only one i know now is hotel california :p :oops:
hope you guys can help me out :D

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

Welcome to the boards.

I'm wondering what you mean when you say the songs don't sound good on the 12-string. Are you strumming chords or playing leads? There are songs that are famous for 12-strings - like the one you mentioned - but in my experience just about any song will sound good on a 12-string. Is it a tuning issue, or does it just sound weird to you? 12-strings sometimes take awhile to get your ear accustomed to; they're really 'full' sounding and the octave strings give you really different voicings - even for the most basic chords.

Just some thoughts...no big deal. It's just that...I'm on the verge of bringing the 12-string out again, but as a solo instrument, using various tunings, and yours seemed like an interesting thread.

Best regards :)

ReplyQuote
(@djiwo)
Topic starter  

It could be that i'm just not used to the sound of the twelve string, but when i try out songs like californication or michel by anouk it's killing me (actually killing me) :?
But chords are no problem, they always sound good, but when it comes down to songs that are played a note at a time it can get nasty (especially with the g octave string)
i hope i'm not the only one having this problem :x
i'm using an electronic tuning device so i don't think the tuning could be wrong?