Clear all

1st Acoustic Guitar to buy?

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@jmchakedis)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone,

I'm new to playing and have been jammin on my electric for about 5 months and taking lessons. I want to get an acoustic to play a lot of different songs and styles, and need some help deciding.

I've been to many guitar stores and am looking to spend under $300 on a guitar that I can continue to learn on and beat up. Its come down to an
Yamaha FG-04, or an Epiphone AJ-200S (both solid top).

Any comments on either guitar? Does it really matter what I get as long as it has a solid top? Any other guitars worth looking into? Thanks :lol:

(@hawken)
Trusted Member

I like the way you're thinking, definitely go with a solid top.

I think they both make nice acoustics...just try to play the one you take home so you can make sure you like the way it has been set up.

ReplyQuote
(@david-m1)
Estimable Member

I purcahsed my Yamaha FG 04LTD at guitar center almost a year ago, I play it everyday and I'm very satisfied. My guitar teacher has commented a couple times on how nice it sounds. The set up was good from the factory it's very easy to play. It's a nice looking guitar, I like the Englemann spruce top, the abalone rosette and headstock logo, the fretboard is bound.

Have fun with your new guitar.

ReplyQuote
(@mattypretends116)
Honorable Member

Alvarez makes great guitars. I bought mine new, $400 on sale for $250. Great buy, definately worth considering. I've never used either of those, but when it comes to an acoustic the only person who can tell you what's right for you is you, since there's nothing to them. If you like how it sounds, buy it. Just compare it with other stuff first. :D

Matt

"Contrary to popular belief, Clapton is NOT God. The prospect that he is God probably had a large hand in driving him to drugs and booze. Thanks everyone."

-Guitar World :lol:

ReplyQuote
(@jmchakedis)
Topic starter