Clear all

5th string equals low E? what's wrong?

21 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@emboss)
Topic starter  

hi,

i'm new to playing guitar. Just bought a rogue dreadnought ra-100. trying to tune the chords but i'm deeply confused.

my 5th string is tuning perfect with low E, my 4th is tuning at A, my 3rd at D and so on. is this right? my 6th string is G#2...i've tried several elect tuners and they all give the same results.

am i not tightening the strings enough? (don't think it'll budge anymore w/ out breaking)

please help.

thanks,

edwin

p.s. is there a way to search the forum?

(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member

Emboss

If you're a newbie, give up on trying to tune one string to another. You have an electronic tuner, just tune one string at a time to that -

from high to low -
e
b
g
d
a
e

That will be MUCH easier for the time being.

Matt

ReplyQuote
(@blind_lemon_pye)
Trusted Member

It seems to me that your guitar is not in tune.

This is the standard tuning :

E (high E) > thinner string
B
G
D
A
E (low E) > thicker string

If I'm not in the band
Don't mean I'm square
Mercury Rev - Car Wash Air

ReplyQuote
(@blind_lemon_pye)
Trusted Member

It seems to me that your guitar is not in tune.

This is the standard tuning :

E (high E) > thinner string
B
G
D
A
E (low E) > thicker string

If I'm not in the band
Don't mean I'm square
Mercury Rev - Car Wash Air

ReplyQuote
(@m07zm4n)
Estimable Member

I first tuned my guitar just wth a tuner, for a LOOOONG time until I realized that my ears don't do that well when tuning string to string.

So START NOW!

Try to tune one string to another as close as you can and then check back with a tuner. listen to the wrong tuning whilst keeping in mind what was wrong. was it too high or too low? then try again.
You can always correct with the tuner in the end but if you keep practicing from day one you really won't need a tuner anymore

just my experience

NO MORE THEORY!!
um...
KNOW MORE THEORY!!!!

<------>
motz
<------>