Clear all

A Chord.

21 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@chlozo)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I am having so much trouble with the A chord, and muting the strings. Especially as the fingers are all together. Does anybody have any tips on how to get it right? :)

Billie-Joe Armstrong is HOT! He's my future husband. Ha ;)

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

I have large fingertips and when i started playing i had the same problem with open chords like D and A.
I learned to barre them. I am what some people refer to as "double-jointed" (no such thing) but my fingers bend a bit more than others i guess so it was easier for me to use one finger (middle) to barre the 3 strings then to shove my fat fingertips into the space.
i also learned to barre the open D with my index finger A-F# (2nd fret) and my ring finger to fret the D (3rd fret) at first i used my middle finger to support the barre.
i learned this largely because i was impatient and the songs i needed to learn all had open A and D.
eventually tho you need to learn to do it other ways also. i did find that barreing(sp?) open chords like this sped up my ability to use A shape barre chords tho.

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@bennett)
Reputable Member

Timely post for me. I've just started trying out some songs that use the A chord. I've got reasonably large fingers so I've been finding it relatively difficult.

I've been trying to form the chord as suggested by David Hodge in one of his lessons: index on G, middle on D and ring on B. This seems to work okay though I have to cram the fingers in a bit.

Thought of trying it with middle, ring and pinky in this formation but haven't had a lot of luck. Maybe middle on D, ring on G and pinky on D. That doesn't seem too bad but maybe it's bad form.

I'm sure some of our more experience fellows will shed some light on this. :)

From little things big things grow - Paul Kelly

ReplyQuote
(@billybenbob)
Trusted Member