Notifications
Clear all

A few months in..

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@occupant)
Topic starter  

So I've been playing for about 3 to 4 months, and I like to think I'm coming along alright.. in at least my girlfriend doesn't find my playing hugely annoying anymore! :)

I can handle CAGED and their minors pretty well, getting the hang of F and B, and having some fun with pentatonic scales (and trying to pick up some others). I'm basically at the point where I can sit and entertain myself playing chord progressions trying different strumming patterns, and doing little licks in between.

I seem to have plateaued here, and I need to step it up.. A big problem is I have practically no patience in learning songs, I start learning one and get bored when I get the gist of it, of course, not when I can actually play the song.. but when I think I would be able to if I kept at at, if that makes any sense... Terrible i know! :)

Did anyone else have this issue? I know that the only option is just press on and get it done.. I'm not adverse to learning songs, I guess it's not my top priority as I'm not really interested in knowing a million songs, but there are things I'd like to play and knowing and understanding songs is key in being able to create them..

I find I'm more into learning fundamental things, scales, chords, some theory, etc. I'm starting to looking into the blues lessons here on GN. I'm wondering if I should stop and focus on getting a few songs under my belt, or if there's any harm in putting the songs off a while longer and continue learning 12 bar blues, shuffles, turnarounds, and the more fundamental things.

On to a different topic: