Clear all

a guitar for a 12 yr old?

17 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@odiewon)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

My 12 yr old daughter is seriously interested in learning to play. I'm not experienced enough to teach her much, but we could learn together.

My dilemma is that she is a small kid, but not tiny. Most of the youth guitars I see are really small.

I saw a Washburn (new) in a pawn shop here in town, I believe they were $129, including hard case(cardboard style). I picked up about 10 of them, and found a couple that played WAY WAY WAY nicer than my Fender. That made ME want one. But they are a full body acoustic, and that is still a little on the large side.

Do you think I'd be better to get her something that she's likely to grow into? I mean the thing seems like a steal. I'm sure she could make due, and the action was fantastic.

When I take her to the guitar shop, she likes them all. She doesn't really have a lot of preference yet. I was thinking of picking one up for her as a gift.

Perhaps I'd be better off getting her a Martin Backpacker or something like that? :wink:

"Never holster an unloaded weapon, it's just poor form." - Col. Jeff Cooper

(@snoogans775)
Reputable Member

definetely not a backpacker, thos are super-hard to play, besides the tension and the action, the body shape is jsut very funky to hold onto

I think a 3/4 would be a good bet, they're a little larger than regular student guitars, many companies make them, just ask your guitar shop for a 3/4 guitar

a 12 year old can learn on a full-size, but many technique problems(bent wrists etc)will occur

I don't follow my dreams, I just ask em' where they're going and catch up with them later.
-Mitch Hedburg
Did you see that!

ReplyQuote
(@david_mohn)
Trusted Member

I know that takamine makes a 3/4 size classical. It's part of thier Jasmine line. I bought one of their 1/2 size for my six year old, and it's a decent guitar. Only problem is, she wants one with "real" strings like daddy's.