Notifications
Clear all

A little help with scales... and just in general

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@duke-of-prunes)
Topic starter  

Right, so I just started playing guitar again about a week ago after not having played for 2 years or so. I about 7-8 months of lessons, then just occasionally played around a little bit. I'd forgotten how much fun it was, I can't believe I ever stopped. It's just so satisfying...

So yeah, luckily enough I've found that I what I learned back then is still there, it even seems that things such as chord changes are better than before. I know, and can change smoothly between, basic chords - By which I mean, for example: A-Am-C-D-Dm-D7-G-E-Em-F-Fm, etc - basically, the point I'm trying to make is I've realized that I can pretty much look at a certain type of song and just play it, which I find boring.

So - what next? I need something to practice... Now, the question that will be asked is what do I want to be able to do/play? I was thinking something like Little Wing (Jimi Hendrix/Stevie Ray Vaughan). More importantly than a specific song, I'd like to learn something that will help me get a better 'understanding' of the music... I don't know how to best explain it, but at the beginning I needed the individual chords to be tabbed out exactly, and now both the forms and strumming patterns come naturally, something that will help/improve my playing in general.

What are some important/cool things to know how to do the guitar?

For one thing, I hear scales are good to know... specifically Pentatonic major, minor. I've looked into it(that means I typed those words into google) but as is so often the case, the Internet is so packed with information it's difficult to filter out the 'good stuff'. Or at least 'relevant' stuff. So can someone please quickly explain how to best practice these scales, and what's important to know about them? What's the blues scale?

Any form of comment/advice is greatly appreciated

Cheers,
DOP