Notifications
Clear all

A question about caged shapes.

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@charlieallnut)
Topic starter  

I'm an older beginner who is somewhat confused about scales. Pentatonic shapes are a form of scale, right? Or not? I've been learning and working to get the C,A,G,E, and D forms with some added blues note down pat, with some success, but some of the instruction I've gotten so far hasn't been the best. At the moment confusion reigns. Questions---Can't each of these forms be played in different positions on the neck, with the root determining the key? Can't different shapes be utilized in the same song as long as the root(s) aren't off key? Thanks in advance for any guidance.

(@dommy09)
Trusted Member

i can answer your first question:

Yes, the pentatonic scale 'shape' can be moved around the fretboard, with the top note determining which key the song is in. eg played at 5th fret it is an A pentatonic, at the 12th fret it is an e pentatonic etc these are usually used in blues songs

also, if you move the shape down 3 frets, it becomes the major pentatonic scale, so a pentatonic scale played with a 3rd fret root is a major pentatonic, as well as g pentatonic

hope my answer helps and wasn't too confusing 8)

Dom

"We all have always shared a common belief that music is meant to be played as loud as possible, really raw and raunchy, and I'll punch out anyone who doesn't like it the way I do." -Bon Scott

ReplyQuote
 Ande
(@ande)
Prominent Member

Not too confusing by itself- i'd even heard it before.

My question- what the heck is a major pentatonic used for? Sounds like crap with everything I try to mix it with...

Best,
Ande

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member