13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

This is a great video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yXDrjp7NK0

of a young bloke covering a satriani number (very well).
he says in the description he is sight reading, and you can see him in the video, turn the pages of his music book.
However, there is no way in the world he is reading this note for note. As far as im concerened he must have this song down to memory. So, what does he mean when he says he is sight reading? is my definition of sight reading wrong - as i thought it was looking at the notes and playingt them one at a time?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

He's not playing it "at sight" (nor is he claiming to) - it's very clear he's rehearsed the piece before.

There are two reasons I say that: first, he is looking away from the music often. Although he tends to be doing that on longer notes, that's something you just don't do the first time you play a piece - especially if it's a long piece. There's a very real risk that you look away from a note, then look back and find the same note... in a different measure. Or on a different line. When I'm reading "at sight", I never take my eyes off the music - but I might if I'm sight reading a piece I've played through a couple dozen times.