Absolute Beginners Question of Mechanics of Strumming

14 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Wrist or forearm?

I've always strummed from my forearm with the idea that you should use larger muscle groups for repetitive motions like strumming. I now have a new guitar teacher who wants me to strum from the wrist, like your shaking your wrist out, because you can get a faster strum that way. so is my way a bad habit that needs to be broken or is his way a bad habit that needs to be broken?

(@jkf_alone)

there are a lot of right ways to strum
http://www.tuckandpatti.com/pick-finger_tech.html

I think the teacher may be trying to get you to use your wrist more by isolating it. stiff wristed strumming, while steady, normally sounds harsh and is hard to adjust to a songs mood. You are on the right track though, starting with the big muscles, thene moving to wrist and forarm motion, then figuring out how to use finger joint motion to vary your rhythms. your guitar teacher is just trying to open your strum up.

Here are a few bad habits to avoid in your strum;

-pinky bracing
-holding the pick too tight
-rolling the sholder forward
-bending or locking your wrist at an unnatural angle

thats basically it for bad habits that I have seen. for me after learning the basic mechanics of the strum, you can pretty much go wild with it, as long as what you do wont hurt your body in the long run or cause you to lose your beat.

360.yahoo.com/jkf_alone

ReplyQuote
(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

i actually don't think he was trying to get me to loosen my strum up as it was my first lesson with this person and the first thing he saw me do. i started strumming something and he thought he should "correct" me on it. i've been playing guitar for five years now and no one has "corrected' me on this. but it made me wonder if i had a bad habit that i didn't now about or if i was really right or if it doesn't matter at all.