Notifications
Clear all

advice needed, i just started playing guitar

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@yourstruly)
Topic starter  

I just started learning guitar a few days ago (i've been trying to learn to play guitar off and on for a while now and want to finally stick with it this time and not quit). Right now i know some chords and scales.

i've been trying to learn some songs from the internet, but i am always very confused even though i some what know how to read TAB. my strumming is a bit odd, i strum to softly i believe and when i try and strum up my hand wobbles and plunks from one string to the other. and i'm always afraid to play when family or friends are near.

any advice on what i should begin working (songs, chords, scales wise), how to make these problems go away, or how i can improve?

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Welcome to Guitar Noise! We look forward to seeing you around the forums! :D

You ought to start with learning the notes on the fretboard, scales & chordshapes (there are articles in our Beginner section that will help with that). From there I would go to our Easy Songs for Beginners and start with "Horse With No Name". It's a very simple 2 chord song that requires a specific strumming pattern, which our own David Hodge has provided, along with tablature and sound recordings for you to try to play along with once you've got the hang of it! Be sure to check out our Beginner section to learn about hammer ons and pull offs and bends, etc. There is LOTS of good information there!

Good luck! And, feel free to ask as many questions as you like. The only stupid question is the one not asked! Our members are great, and will do their best to answer anything!

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@coolnama)
Prominent Member