Clear all

Air travel

18 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@causnorign)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Well I'll be goin' to the Florida Keys for 2 weeks, sort of a business trip (military actually). Be the first time I'm flyin' with a guitar. I'll be strummin my 6 string on the front porch swing, to bad the only git I feel safe bringing is my Washburn Rover. I hope I find some kind of internet access because I'm not bringing a computer, otherwise I'm really gonna miss this group.

(@ejwebb)
Trusted Member

How do you like your Rover?

I am headed to Singapore next week on business and will be gone 9 days. I just started playing about a month ago and can't stand the thought of not playing for that long. I called Yamaha Music in Singapore and they do not know wnywhere to rent instruments there. I considered Renting a rover locally ($10/mo) and taking it with me. Have to check on the carry-on restrictions...

ej

ReplyQuote
(@causnorign)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

The Rover is nice for its size, and is suposed to fit in the overhead compartments on a plane. It takes a bit of time to find a comfortable playing position, I've found that I have to really suck in my gut to be able to play it, maybe after 2 weeks I'll have some six-pack abs :wink: The case is a real nice padded thing that can take a likkin' and keep on tickin'. I bought it when I was first learning to play so I could practice anywhere it was a great buy at $150.

ReplyQuote
(@egdinger)
Eminent Member

Bringing this back up, does anybody know about traveling on an airplane with regular guitar. Can it be brought on as hand luggage, or do you have to check it? If the latter what kind of case should I use?

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

Bringing this back up, does anybody know about traveling on an airplane with regular guitar. Can it be brought on as hand luggage
That is entirely at the discretion of the airline. Some say the decision can be affected by the phase of the moon :wink: