Notifications
Clear all

Alternative to a Plectrum

39 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
(@thomasg)
Topic starter  

I've recently started playing guitar again, self taught. (I'm a vocalist by trade)

I've been strumming using the back of my index finger. I tried using a plectrum tonight and really can't get comfortable with it, particularly on "up strums". It feels like it's catching the strings as opposed to "caressing" them.

Are there any alternatives to using a plectrum? Is it "ok" not to use one?

Cheers.

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Welcome to Guitar Noise!! We look forward to seeing you around the forums!! :D

And, yes, it is perfectly acceptable not to use a pick. Fingerpicking is my preferred style. I feel as if I have better control over where my fingers go than I do with a pick. Plus, I prefer that little softer sound.

:D

Here are some links to get you started and be sure to check out GN's articles, threads, etc. on Fingerstyle guitar. (Just type "Fingerpick" into the Search box and you'll get a bunch of links!) Like this one https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/basic-travis-finger-picking/ and this one https://www.guitarnoise.com/tag/fingerstyle/

http://www.activemusician.com/Basic-Fingerpicking--t13i32

http://www.guitarforbeginners.com/forum/finger-style-lessons/

Have fun!! :D

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

Yes, you can strum without a plectrum in the way you described, or some other way such as holding your finger and thumb together as if you were holding a plectrum, but using the back of your finger (nail) for downstrokes and your thumb or thumb nail for upstrokes.