Notifications
Clear all

Alternative to a Plectrum

39 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Serious question for the metal guys here - I'm not really into metal as such, but surely you can play metal without a plectrum? I play a lot of hard rock, and as I'm mainly a rhythm guitarist, a lot of what I play is hard downstrums - I put my finger and thumb together as if I'm holding a pick. Seems to work OK for me.

My main problem with using a plec, as I said before, is switching from strumming to picking - when I'm picking, my index finger plucks the G string, my middle finger the B string, and my ring finger the top E string. My thumb covers the bass strings - E, A and D. It's bloody hard to go from one string to another to pick the bass note THEN pick the top three strings - and what do you do when you have to pluck, say, the open A string, play a run on the top three strings, then the open E string (or maybe a G note on same) or even a walking bassline? I just can't do it with a plec - I just haven't got the mentality to sit down with a guitar in hand and play the same few notes over and over and over again till I get 'em right. Especially when I'm all over the fretboard...

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Vic I can see how it might be difficult to do with the music/songs you play but metal is totally different. I don't play tons of metal but the wife used to when she was playing in her Hardcore band so I was around it alot, but like Ande said your not going to get the sound without a pick. And forget about speed metal I don't think there is anyway to do that without a pick.

It's just so much more subdued and softer without a pick exactly the opposite of the sound you are going for in metal.