Notifications
Clear all

Am I Doing Something Wrong?

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@randymaarsh)
Topic starter  

I just started playing guitar. I usually play an electric guitar without an amp as to not bother other people. But when ever i do this i always hear the strings making unusual sounds when i play. Its like they are vibrating the wrong way against the frets. Does anyone have any pointers so that i can not do this?

(@damien-gray)
Eminent Member

Change the action, I believe there's a tutorial on this site about how to do it.

My guitars:
http://damiengray.ath.cx/guitar/strat_body.jpg
http://damiengray.ath.cx/guitar/strat_and_star.jpg

ReplyQuote
 Cat
(@cat)
Noble Member

I always hear the strings making unusual sounds when i play. Its like they are vibrating the wrong way against the frets.

Hiya, Randy...

Can ya elaborate a bit???

Cat

"Feel what you play...play what you feel!"

ReplyQuote
(@randymaarsh)
Topic starter  

I always hear the strings making unusual sounds when i play. Its like they are vibrating the wrong way against the frets.

Hiya, Randy...

Can ya elaborate a bit???

Cat
Like say, for instance, if you lift a string up and let it go and it just hits the frets and it makes that sound like its vibrating against the metal parts of the fret. Its hard to explain, but i think you can understand

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

fret buzz -- it has a number of causes, and these can be due to the guitar, the playing technique or both. overplaying -- strumming and picking too hard can cause this. this is a fairly common occurrance when playing an unamplified electric, as the player tends to compensate the lack of volume by playing harder than is optimal for the electric guitar. try playing a bit softer. buzz getting better? that's a clue. now compare your unplugged strumming force to that of amplified. if you are finding a significant difference, that points to the same issue.