Clear all

Another Beginner Question re: Fingers

17 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@monster)
Topic starter  

Hello. :)

Just recently purchased an electric guitar kit (five days ago) and am enjoying it so far.

As expected, I'm still learning finger positions and how to strum/pick, simple chords, all that good stuff. :)

My Shrek-like fingers are having a problem where they generally touch other strings that they aren't supposed to. I can somewhat get by this by angling my fingers so that they hit the string(s) at an angle - if you were looking straight down at the fret board you'd see them angling in from the left so the string(s) are hitting the side of my fingertips instead of the top.

I know that in time with practice my fingertips will harden up with calluses so that hitting adjacent strings should become less of an issue and that my fingers will become a lot more flexible. (Right?) :)

My question is this: this early in, should I be more concerned with learning to hit the strings more straight-on and disregard that I'm hitting other strings for now or should I continue angling them and hope that in time I'll just be able to gradually angle them correctly? I don't want to learn any bad habits!

I hope that all made sense, if not I'll try and rephrase.

This is an excellent site, thank you to all who have contributed here, I'll be haunting this place for years to come. :D

(@dommy09)
Trusted Member

Welcome to the boards

Personally, my fingers are always on a slight angle, and are never fully perpendicular to the fretboard. I was told by my teacher that a little bit of angle is good and helps you hit all the strings correctly. Consequently, the callus on my ring finger isn't right on the tip of my finger, but slightly to the left of the top (not by much, its not down near my knuckle or anything!)