Notifications
Clear all

Another string question

12 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@faceofimpurity)
Topic starter  

I just started playing and I was wondering is it ok to use my electric strings on my acoustic?

(@jtb226)
Estimable Member

from what i know, it won't hurt your acoustic, but it won't sound that good. better off getting some acoustic strings

"Heavy decibels are playing on my guitar
We got vibrations comin' up from the floor
We're just listenin' to the rock
That's givin' too much noise....
Rock and roll ain't noise pollution"
~AC/DC

ReplyQuote
(@jmaikos)
Eminent Member

I would say there should be no problem with putting electric strings on an acoustic guitar. However, you might have to adjust your truss rod since electric strings do tend to be smaller in diameter. The tone changes (some claim to hear a loss of bass or a thin sound). I would think it might not sound very rich, but may give a very vintage feel. However, if you are a "glass half full" type, then the loss of bass may produce a brighter tone.

ReplyQuote
(@jmaikos)
Eminent Member

To elaborate on my last post, personally I would only use electric strings on my acoustic in an emergency. The acoustic bronze strings sound much better IMHO.

ReplyQuote
(@faceofimpurity)
Topic starter  

the main reason I was asking is because the acoustic strings hurt my fingers really bad... I was hoping to get used to the thinner lighter electric ones first.
Thanks for your help.

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

You can buy thinner acoustic strings.

Or low-tension acoustic strings like the Martin "Silk & Steel."

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@indiana_jonesin)
Estimable Member