Skip to content
anyone know how to ...

Notifications
Clear all

anyone know how to set the tone knobs on a fender strat?

21 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
20.3 K Views
(@mayerfan70)
Topic starter  

I recently bought a fender strat and I am not sure how to set the tone knobs on the guitar so it has the best sound. I am new to electric so I am not real sure about the settings on my amp (fender frontman) either. Any help would be appreciated.

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

It's all trial and error, Mayerfan. Different settings for different genres....all I can tell you is, when I had a Squier Strat and a Fender Frontman amp, I used to like a fair bit of treble and not much bass on the guitar, bass about halfway up and treble about 3/4 up on the amp, with the mids turned right down. But that was MY preferred tone for playing stuff like All Right Now, Nantucket Sleighride, and mostly what you'd call classic rock.....

It'd really help if you told us what sort of music you play, or what you want to play. If you're flitting between genres, give us a few songs you like (or would like) to play; every little bit of info helps us to help you!

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member

I'm gonna summon all my psychic powers and guess blues.

You have a 5 way switch. Starting with the switch towards the bottom of the guitar you have the bridge pickup (slanted one) then bridge + middle, then middle, then middle + neck then neck. The knob closest to the top of the guitar is the volume knob, it works all the pickups. The middle knob is tone for the neck pickup and the bottom one is tone for the middle pickup. The bridge pickup has no tone control. You truly need to twist them til you hear the sound you like. It is an individual thing and different for everyone.

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."