Notifications
Clear all

are lessons worth it?

15 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@rhcpfan0)
Topic starter  

if so where is a good place to take them? private?
if not are there any good tutorials?
thanks

(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

lessons are worth it. you can go on craigslist to find a teacher. if you don't like the first one, get another one.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

With a good teacher, absolutely.

To find a good teacher, ask good players who they studied (or would like to study) with.

Private lessons are better than semi-private or group; they're geared to the slowest student by necessity.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

hey watch it. i've been the slowest player in a group...!

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member

Lessons are a waste of time ..... Psyche! Noteboat!!!! .. I'm self taught but am stubborn. A teacher would have helped me greatly. Not just stubborn, but I couldn't afford one. If you can take lessons, I think it's a good idea. 8)

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

In a word, yes. But take some time to look for a good teacher -- one who asks you about and is interested in your goals and the style of music you like. Teacher and pupil have to be a good fit.

And welcome to the musical madhouse!

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@rmorash)
Estimable Member