Clear all

Arr! Help!

23 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@piratelove38)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Ok, I am really frustrated right now. I've been playing guitar on and off for about 3 years now. I took lessons for 2 years but my teacher turned out to be a real creep and I ended up quitting. I'm hesitant to take lessons again, and since I quit I've been trying to learn on my own. But I feel so overwhelmed with the sheer amount of things that need to be learned.
I've thought a few times that maybe I should take lessons again, so that I can structure myself somehow. I'm really interested in lead guitar and learning songs, but I'm doing such a half-baked job of it because I can't concentrate enough on anything. If I focus on one thing (for example, playing actual songs) I remember that I barely know my scales, and then I freak out. But then when I focus on scales, the progress is so slow that I remember I'm not playing any actual songs, not getting any better, and then I just freak out all over again. I can't focus on anything for long.

I love rock n roll, always have. I'm not gonna lie; I'm not the most disciplined person and I dunno how dedicated I really am yet. But I do fantasize about being able to play well, and even performing one day. I want to play well but I just feel so overwhelmed by everything I have to learn and I lose focus as a result.

Can anyone help me?

~Alma

(@kevin72790)
Prominent Member

Learn to play scales and learn your chords. Then you can make your own songs AND play any song you want. ;)

It's easier said than done of course. But structure something like...half hour of scale practice...then half hour of learning a song, or whatever.

ReplyQuote
(@dagwood)
Noble Member

Who was it that said...

"Give me three chords and......." ?

Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing. - Wernher Von Braun (1912-1977)

ReplyQuote
(@falcon1)
Reputable Member