Clear all

Back at it after a break ( long story)

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@landog)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Some of you may remember me. I started playing guitar back in early December. I signed up for lessons with a great guitar teacher.

I was very excited intially and thought I made great progress. But, (and there's always a but) I think I got burned out after about 4 months. But we started to get into alternate picking and I was still very much struggling with Bass-Stum and strumming in general.

My chord changes were not as smooth as I thought they should be and I had developed what I realize now was a bad habit regarding the placement of my right arm over the guiter. The net effect was that my right arm was acting like a lever, so when I would let go with my left hand to change chords, the guitar would move out of position, thus making the chord changes even harder.

Anyway, I think I was putting way too much pressure on myself, so I quit the whole thing. I wasn't having fun at all anymore. I wasn't working, and although I had plenty of time for practice, I think I might have obsessed over too much initially.

Well, I put the guitar away for a little over 2 months, didn't touch it at all except to move it from the living room to my den because the wife got tired of it just sitting there.

Sure enough, as soon as I moved it into my den, it was like it was calling out to me: "Hey Steve, give it another shot, see what you still remember."

So, about 3 weeks ago it pulled it back out and started again. I've got to tell you, I think the break really did me some good. Of course I had forgotten a few things, and the callouses on my fingers were all gone, but it all came back pretty quickly.