Notifications
Clear all

Bass guitar player vs Regular electric guitar player

10 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@razzlemacher)
Topic starter  

So here is total newbie question that I've often wondered about - the bass guitar has 4 strings vs the regular guitar, say a Les Paul, has 6 strings. So if person "A" is really good at playing the Les Paul then he could easily pick up the bass guitar and rock on!! Or not?? I know I know ... David Hodge from guitarnoise has just published a book on Bass guitars and may want to kill me after reading this post but I really don't know and am curious about it. (And if David you reading this then thanks for the articles on this website - they are phenomenal!)

Is playing "regular" guitar also akin to improving on your bass skills? Thanks :)

Life isn't about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself - George Bernard Shaw

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

ReplyQuote
(@corbind)
Noble Member

That's a tough one. Obviously a bass has the same 4 low stings as a bass so playing it (or finding notes) is pretty easy. I've always felt a guitar player could easily pick up the basics of bass fast. But that's initially.

Bass is a pivotal instrument in that is can be played simple (root note most of the time) or busy (like a lead guitarist on bass). All I know the best bass players play bass as their primary instrument because they understand the ebb & flow of music. They lock on with the drummer and help define what's going on.

"Nothing...can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts."

ReplyQuote
(@dl0571)
Reputable Member

Essentially, a guitarist can pick up the technical basics of the bass, ie fretting and picking, but musically it takes a whole new learning process in figuring out how to make the music flow. They are two completely different beasts to tame.