Notifications
Clear all

Begineer - 1'st Electric Guitar Help!

20 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@filibuster)
Topic starter  

Hey guys, I'm new to guitars. I currently own an acoustic Guitar and I can play a little bit with it :o. I want to purchase an Electric Guitar for beginner but not one of those "Begineer Pakage" ones, I would like it to last for quite a few years. I'm looking to spend around 200-400 on the Guitar and 100-200 on the Amp.
I'm mostly interested in playing Rock/Punk/Post Hardcore type of music.

Currently here are the guitars I'm interested in.

Epiphone G-400 SG Electric Guitar - 399.99
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-G400-SG-Electric-Guitar?sku=518291

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Electric Guitar 379.99-499.99
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-Les-Paul-Standard-Electric-Guitar?sku=518341

Fender® Standard Stratocaster Electric Guitar (2005) 369.99-404.99
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Fender-Standard-Stratocaster-Electric-Guitar-2005?sku=510000

Epiphone G-310 SG Electric Guitar 199.99
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-G310-SG-Electric-Guitar?sku=518280

Schecter Damien FR Electric Guitar 399.99
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Schecter-Damien-FR-Electric-Guitar?sku=513103

I'm open to any other kind of suggestions I'm really new to this so I don't know which to choose really.

And currently I have had no luck in choosing Amps =/

And one more question, is it okay to order the Guitar Online? or is it better to buy from a local dealershop?

Thanks!

(@alangreen)

The recommendation here is that it's better to buy from a shop, as you can try out the guitar before parting with any cash and it should be properly set up. You can't try guitars online and you have to do your own setup.

Any one of the makes and models you've mentioned should do nicely, although I've never tried a Schecter so can't speak for them (although there are members here who can)