Notifications
Clear all

Beginner Advice Sought!

24 Posts
22 Users
0 Likes
(@rum-runner)
Reputable Member

I have to say that the hardest part for me is how much potential the instrument has. I only wished I started years ago .

Plakerl, I have often had these exact same felings. First, the more I learn, the more I find out how much nore there really is to learn. It can seem overwhelming if you allow yourself to get caught up in that type of thinking. So I just acknowledge that, yes, there is a lot to be learned, and leave it at that, not dwelling on what I don't know but rather what I do know and what I am currently working on.

I also feel quite often that I don't seem to be progresing. I have been playing now for going on 2-1/2 years. But sometimes when I play in front of people who hadn't heard me in a while, they remark about the progress I have made. So that gives me feedback tht I am indeed progressing even if it doesn't seem that way to me.

Then I ask my teacher, and also I have asked the same of an old time friend who has been a musician for quite some time, "How long should I expect it to take to reach my goal of being at a level where I can perform with a band?" They both say don't worry about how long it takes. My old friend replied "you'll know when you are ripe" What that all means to me is just that you need to enjoy the journey, the process of learning. Being good at the guitar trakes a lot of time, and you can't expect it to happen quickly. You've got to enjoy the process.

Another thing is about wishing you'd started younger. I was 46 when I started, and when that thought begins to cross my mind I just forget about it. Hey, you can't change the past; you can only be glad you started n the journey when you did.

Regards,

Mike

"Growing Older But Not UP!"

ReplyQuote
(@stan-ton)
Trusted Member

hey slipperman...