Clear all

Beginner here, just had my most fun on the guitar

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@joeyfivethumbs)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I am a total beginner. I have a cheap electric and not a whole lot of time, so I have just been working on scales, open chords, online lessons here and there. I am a big blues fan, btw. I was reading through this guys page on improvising, http://www.heartwoodguitar.com/WordPressBlog/?p=17 .

He said download a 5-minute recording of 12-bar blues, which he provided and play these notes:

* Vary your rhythm Sometimes play fast, sometimes let a note ring for a while.
* Vary your volume Let some notes whisper and other notes scream.

I did it and had a blast, could actually "feel" it. I know that have a long way to go, but it was a nice break from just practicing different scales. Made me actually feel like a guitar player for a little bit. So if you are a beginner like me and a blues fan, give it a shot. For me it was nice boost in the arm to show me why I should be practicing these scales until I can work them inside and out. Also, like I said, it was the most "fun" I have had on the guitar, a nice break from the work/frustration side of it.

(@blueline)
Noble Member

Great! Feels good, doesn't it!? You took the first step, keep experimenting over that blues progression. You can expand on it much more. Don't be afraid to explore. If something doesn't sound good, stay away from it. But you will find that alot more note can go with that progression. Have at it!!
Now you'll have to change your name to Joey 'Howlin" Thumbs! :P

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

ReplyQuote
(@jackss565)
Reputable Member

Congratulations, sure there is more fun to come.

Jack

ReplyQuote
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

Nice post :D

And you did it with only four notes! Imagine what you can do it with four more! ;)
Keep playing and maintain the goal: maximize the fun!

Congrats!

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)