Clear all

Beginner metal songs?

34 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@matteo)
Honorable Member

Thanks for all the great ideas. To answer a few questions:

When I mentioned beginner, I wasn't very clear about what level of beginner I suppose. I've been playing for only a few months, but I can play things like Day Tripper, Message in a Bottle (slow - I'm trying to speed it up, but it's at 172!!), intro to Crazy Train - that sort of thing.

Also, when I mentioned "all the way through" I meant the whole song - intro, solo, outro, various bridges, and other musical terms I don't fully understand. Most songs have multiple guitars so there's multiple rhythm and lead to choos from. But, I want to try and get the whole process down from beginning to end. This should give me a solid goal to work toward and be challenging.

At this point I've settled on two to work on right now: Sweet Child o' Mine (GnR) and Back in Black (AC/DC). Now, before anyone starts a flame war, these are "metal" enough for me, and I'll back off "metal" and just point out that they are just the right genre for now.

For the future, some of the early Metallica songs will be interesting to approach, but I'll hold off for now on Master of Puppets. I'll probably need a teeny bit more practice/skill to get that one. Also, there are tons of AC/DC, Iron Maiden, and many others that I'll try. Here's a short list of some of those on my list to try eventually. Note the absolute lack of a consistent genre.

Rock and Roll (Led Zeppelin)
Revelations (Iron Maiden)
The Black Widow (Link Wray - if I can ever find any sheet music for it)
Stray Cat Strut (Stray Cats - they're metal, right??)
Love Me Two Times (The Doors)

hi mate

sweet child is an excellent choiche since you could play it at different levels: i.e. I easily learnt a couple of years ago the verse and chorus but i never tried the intro, also you could paly it fingerstyle and try some variation...good choiche