Notifications
Clear all

beginner mistakes to avoid

16 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@flashover146)
Topic starter  

i was looking for some advice on common beginner mistakes and how to correct and avoid them. since i don't have a teacher i am reliing on the lessons here on the web and the multitude of knowledge and experience of great people like you!
i am playing a Godin Detour and using a Line6 spider II amp if that makes any difference.
thanks in advance.

can't sing or dance, may as well learn to play

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

Beginner MIstake to Avoid #1: Don't get a teacher and try to teach yourself.

Very very very few good, let alone great, musicians are entirely self-taught. Having someone who underestands what it takes to be good and who has some skill in helping other people find their way there is worth more than you can possibly imagine.

Beginner Mistake to Avoid #2: Don't learn to read music

Tabs are nice, they're easy, and their really pretty worthless for anything beyond beginners. Musicians communicate in a standard way, not learning to read music is like living in the USA but refusing to learn English. Sure you can get along, but why make it so hard on yourself?

Beginner Mitake to Avoid #3: Don't learn whole songs

Music is more than a phrase or two. It's amazing how many guitarists out there know 70 licks and riffs but not a single song and still think they are musicians.

Beginner Mistake to Avoid #4: Ignore Pain in your joints

Pain in any joint while playing a guitar is almost always a sign of bad technique, it's also a sign of things being damaged. Learn to hold the guitar correctly, learn to hold your hands correctly. Good form in simply holding the guitar goes a long way to avoiding other mistakes in technique.

There's plenty more, but if you avoid those four, you'll be a long way to figuring out how to be a very good guitar player.