Clear all

Beginner question

10 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@andrewpatrick)
Topic starter  

Sup guys, I'm new here.

I just bought my first guitar yesterday and started taking lessons online..so I'm brand new to guitar. :D

I just have a quick question about a problem I'm having. I'd like to know if its normal or if its just the guitar I purchased.

First off, I have:

Ibanez V Series V70CE
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ibanez-V-Series-V70CE-Dreadnought-Cutaway-Acoustic-Electric-Guitar-102567492-i1150613.gc?mode=1&qso=3

I started learning a few chords yesterday and the problem I'm having is that it feels like i have to press down extra extra hard to get the note to play properly (without buzzing sound).

I just read a few of the reviews on Guitar Centers website and a few different people said that it was not a "fast playing" guitar and that you had to press down extra hard.

Another thing that is happening: Sometimes when I try to play a certain chord (like A minor) its hard to get my finger in the proper position without it hurting too much...and my finger will mute the chord below it.

I guess what I want to ask is...is this normal regardless of the guitar I have? And....will I be able to press down hard enough to play the notes (without it hurting as bad as it is) once callous form on my fingers?

One last thing...even when my fingers are hurting really bad (like right now..hurts to type)...should I just keep playing to speed up the callous thing?

- Thanks in advanced for any responses :mrgreen:

EDIT: For anyone who is familiar with the guitar I have. Do you think I should try and exchange it for something a littler easier to play?

(@simonb)
Eminent Member

Hi Andrew, welcome to the wonderful world of the guitar :)
I started learning a few chords yesterday and the problem I'm having is that it feels like i have to press down extra extra hard to get the note to play properly (without buzzing sound).