Notifications
Clear all

Beginner with finger problems

14 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@esahc)
Topic starter  

A few days ago, I started learning to play for the second time, and I've just run into the problem that made me quit the first time around. My left pinkie is slightly deformed. I'm left handed, but learning to play right-handed, so the guitar is right-handed. It's an acoustic guitar, and I really don't want to learn to play with the strings upside down(which is the only solution I've managed to think up so far), so I'm hoping someone will have some advice for me.
When I was learning before, I was taking lessons, and my teacher insisted that I use all four fingers when playing, but because of the way my left pinkie is shaped, it's impossible to press a string down without hitting another string in the process. The third joint won't bend forward at all, but it will bend back slightly, so when I press down on a string, instead of hitting the string with the tip of my finger, I hit it with the pad, and deaden the sound of the strings on either side.

All of the books and advice I can find basically either say "tough it out and strengthen the finger" which is physically impossible for me, as no amount of exercise can reshape the bone or joint; or they mention Django Reinhardt, who, while endlessly interesting as both a musician and a person, is not particularly helpful to a beginner that is trying to figure out how to play for the first time.

(@alangreen)

I'm going to assume that you can't use your left-hand pinkie at all, rather than "I can get to do some stuff but it's difficult".

I think we need to accept that the "Tough it out" and "Just work through it" schools of thought are simply not going to happen because you can't get your pinkie to do what those tuition methods want you to do.

So, what are your options? Fortunately, there are several.