Clear all

Beginners Songs

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@cjdave)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi, I am a beginner at learning the guitar. I can't afford lessons so I have been learning through books. I have learned the chords of A, D, D7, E, G, & G7. Are there any other beginner chords that I can learn to play to help me with actually playing songs. I am getting bored just repititiously playing chords and I would love to play songs but I don't know where to look for beginner songs in the chords that I know. I am looking for music for Gospel and Folk songs. Can any one help me with these?
Also, any suggestions on how to strum and change chords at the same time with smoother rhythm? Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
cjdave

(@steves6)
Trusted Member

Ya might try a look at the Easy song form.

ReplyQuote
(@cjdave)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Where can I find that at? Sorry, but don't mean to sound dumb. :oops:

ReplyQuote
(@steves6)
Trusted Member

At the bottom of this page, Where it says 'jump to' Try that...

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

You might also try looking at books of songs, particularly any book that groups either a style or a genre you like or a particular artist. If you're looking at folk or gospel, for example, you might try this one, a book of Woody Guthrie songs:

http://www.sheetmusicplus.com/title/Woody-Guthrie-Songbook/3374293

Books like this usually have the melody (in notation) and words written out and the chords printed at the appropriate place.

You can also find tons of songs online written in the same lyrics and chords manner, just without the melody lines written out, by googling any song title and chords ("Scarborough Fair chords" for example).

Hope this helps.

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@diceman)
Reputable Member