Notifications
Clear all

Big Fingers Causing Problems

17 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@ryanxp)
Topic starter  

Hi, i'm extremely new to guitar - i've only recieved my first about a month ago - and though i've been practicing as much as I can, I can't get many chords to sound properly at all, and i'm beginning to think that its not just my positioning (as I can sit for 10 minutes placing my fingers in the proper place and they're still touching other strings no matter what) and that the large fingers are to blame -_- Any suggestions? I'm not really sure what to do at this point...

geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Welcome to GN RyanXP!! Its actually pretty common to think that. I felt that way too.. You may be right but I have seen some pretty fat fingers guitarist play extremely well. Best suggestion I have is to look around for a teacher. Take your one free lesson and see what he says about the way you are holding the guitar. Alot of places will give you one free.

Good luck
Geoo

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@niklas)
Reputable Member

I'm sure it would be easier to help you if you say exactly wich chords you are having problems with and we maybe can give you alternative fingerings (you can example try to barre the A chord).

Maybe it's an idea to get a guitar teacher in the beginning that can see exactly what you're are doing right/wrong.

And a big welcome to GN. To be honest, it's the best place on the internet to get help about everything guitar related, so be sure to visit freqently :wink: .

Edit: Geoo types faster :lol:

"Talent is luck. The important thing in life is courage."

ReplyQuote
(@biker_jim_uk)
Honorable Member

also are you using the tips of your fingers instead of the pads? And what sort of guitar are you playing on? For eg Gibson necks are narrower than Strats and therefore strings are closer together

ReplyQuote
(@ryanxp)