Clear all

Buzzing Low E on 3rd fret

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@mpjbell)
Topic starter  

Hi Guys,
I am a complete Newb and I am having a problem. I seem to get a buzzing sound on the 3rd fret of the Low E. No matter how hard I press without sharpening the sound this string buzzes. It is only this one string and only on the 3rd fret.

Do I have a bad string or may there be something else wrong here. The guitar came with an extra set of strings but I don't know if should be bying something better. Recomendations?

This is on an Epiphone PR-4E Accoustic/Electric and its a week old.

Regards,

~Mark

(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

If the guitar came with light strings, you could go with a new set of mediums. Factory strings if non-brand-name are not always the best anyhow. But Epi's always get about a 17 point inspection Stateside?

Did the weather/temperature warm significantly since you got it? Keep it cooler then, or in a case.

Anyhow, slightly thicker strings should pull the neck up a bit and will unfortunately raise the action, but that may solve the buzzing problem.

Sometimes a particular note rattles a tuner or a truss rod. Check that by detuning or raising the tuning half a pitch, and then fret the 3rd. See if it makes a difference.

The likeliest thing is that you have a higher fret somewhere up on the fretboard and there is a slight collision between the string and the crown of the high fret, which again would call for a little more bow in the neck or a thicker guage of string, unless you can slacken the truss rod just a bit, yourself. Or have it checked under warranty, if convenient.

Like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Or have it checked under warranty, if convenient.
That would get my vote.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN