Clear all

Calluses

9 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@guitar_samurai)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Ok, so if there's anything thats getting to me making it hard to practice, its either the fact that my guitar refuses to stay in tune and I'm not very good at tuning it to begin with, or the fact that I haven't developed calluses on my fingers yet, so the steel strings hurt like hell. So, my question to you guys is this: Is there some way to speed the development of calluses? I've had a couple friends suggest pushing the edge of a credit card into your finger tips, and there's the obvious option of practicing a lot, but is there anything else I can try?

(@sin-city-sid)
Prominent Member

I find that practicing string bends up a couple of pitches seems to build those finger tips up rapidly.

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

Practicing a lot.

And responding to the pain by going, "humph, I'm a MAN!!!! I can take this pain!!!!!"

For obvious reasons, if, like me, you are not a man, doing option two will only cause people to give you funny looks. :roll:

:lol: :lol:

Apparently doing stuff like soaking your hands in vinegar also helps, but I've never tried it so I've no idea if that's true or just a myth conjured up by trumpet players to make guitar players act stupidly.

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@darthnihlus)
Eminent Member

Your action may be set high. Have a luthier(sp) check the setup. At the very least change your strings to the lightest gauge you can find. For noobs like us we probably won't notice the loss of sound quality.

Another tip is to get a capo and set it on your first fret. This will get the strings closer to the frets and will enable you to practice longer especially if you are practicing open chord C, Am, Dm, etc.

It took me 10 days to get my calluses. They still hurt after an hour of practice but not near as much as they used to.

good luck
T

ReplyQuote
(@coleclark)
Honorable Member